Skip to Content

Loading Events

« All Events

Housing Visionary Awards Gala

Tuesday, June 20, 2023 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm EDT

Quick Links || Digital Invitation ||  Sponsorship Opportunities || Reserve Tickets and Become a Sponsor

On Tuesday, June 20th, NHC will host our Annual Housing Visionary Awards Gala at the Anthem in Washington, D.C.! Housers from across the country will join us to recognize our three outstanding honorees, Lisa Rice, Susan Dewey, and Douglas Bibby.

Gala program:

5:30 p.m. Registration and Reception
6:30 p.m. Dinner and Networking
7:00 p.m. Awards Program
7:45 p.m. Networking and Dessert Reception

Dress: Business or cocktail attire


Susan Dewey has served as Virginia Housing’s CEO since 1999. Prior to this appointment, Susan served as a Virginia Housing Commissioner. At that time, Susan was the State Treasurer of Virginia where she directed all operations for the Department of the Treasury and the Treasury Board. Today, Susan serves on many housing-related nonprofit boards, such as Housing Forward Virginia, as well as the Virginia Chamber of Commerce, where she been a key leader in efforts to reach first time homebuyers in communities not well served by conventional mortgage marketing efforts.

Lisa Rice is the president and CEO of the National Fair Housing Alliance (NFHA). She is at the forefront of efforts to advance fair housing principles, preserve and broaden fair housing protections, and expand equal housing opportunities for millions of Americans. She played a major role in crafting sections of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, and in establishing the Office of Fair Lending within the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. She also helped lead the investigation and resolution of precedent-setting fair housing cases which have resulted in providing remedies for millions of people as well as the elimination of systemic discriminatory practices involving lending, insurance, rental, and zoning matters.

Douglas M. Bibby is an experienced executive whose career has spanned senior leadership positions in communications, mortgage finance, and residential real estate. He most recently retired from the National Multifamily Housing Council (NMHC) where he served as president for over 21 years. During his tenure at NMHC, Bibby led the team representing over 1,600 member firms in the $3 trillion multifamily housing sector. Prior to joining NMHC, he spent 16 years as a senior officer of Fannie Mae, where he was part of the top management team credited with the remarkable turnaround at Fannie Mae in the book “Good to Great.” Bibby has been active in the non-profit community of Washington, D.C. for over 30 years which is why he is the recipient of the Carl A.S. Coan, Sr., Award for Public Service, a special, non-annual award given in recognition of extraordinary lifetime achievements.

Event details

Hotel Accommodations: A block of rooms has been reserved at the Hyatt House Washington, DC / The Wharf. To secure your room at the discounted rate, please book your stay using the link HERE or call the hotel directly at 202.554.1234 and reference the National Housing Conference. Rooms must be booked by Friday, May 19, 2023 to receive the discounted rate.

Onsite Parking: We recommend utilizing the Metro, Uber or Taxi to get to The Anthem; however, there is a parking garage located underneath the venue that is easily accessible. For directions on how to best access the garage, please visit HERE. If you will be taking the Metro to the event, the closest Metro Station is the Waterfront Metro.


Host sponsor

Presenting Sponsor 




National Multifamily Housing Council


Home Starter
Terwilliger Pappas
Virginia Housing
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
NeighborWorks America

Opportunity Builder

Michigan State Housing Development Authority


Tuesday, June 20, 2023
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm


901 Wharf Street SW
Washington, DC 20024 United States
+ Google Map
Refine Topics